Intellectual Volunteering Opportunities Available Here!

Hi all. When I started this blog my intent was to engage every debate that comes my way regarding my posts – with little regard for how inane the other side was being. I viewed it as a matter of being a good citizen and being responsible for my content. When the blog first started there were generally between 150-200 hits per day, and I had more time on my hands as I was at the early stages of recovering from a car accident. Now on most days the blog will get 800-1000 hits per day, sometimes substantially more. Moreover, as my healing is essentially complete and as I’m in the process of setting up a 1-year work term in South Korea, I have less time on my hands to deal with the increasingly common heaps of religious dogmatism that come The Frame Problem‘s way.

As the site has grown over the months, readers like Stoobs, the Matts, thisbusymonster, and Mark, have done an amazing job of representing science and rationality. For their efforts, they each receive a slice of delicious cake:

Today, opportunities for on-site intellectual volunteerism continue to abound. Because of my increasing external priorities and my internal focus on the Cult of Scientology, I have limited time to devote to metaphorically bashing my head against a wall in “debates” with IDists who actually believe the BS being thrown against the world’s biggest fans by Ben Stein and his Expelled cronies and by organizations like the euphemistically named Discovery Institute, Answers in Genesis, and the Institute for Creation “Research” (i.e., research in which only that which can be interpreted as supportive of our views will be pursued and will be viewed as counting).

Delicious cake is on offer for any other brave and remarkably patient samaritans who are willing to take one for the team (Team Reason) by subjecting themselves to defending reason to the local ID/Creationists who have managed to fall for the religious right propaganda that there is an international conspiracy in which the scientific, education, judicial, media (even many in the more conservative media), and even liberal religious communities of the world have all banded together to bully the entirely inane legitimate and entirely unscientific dim-witted collapse-at-the-logic-of-a-four-year-old just-a-theory of Intelligent Design into intellectual oblivion. I will continue to take part, too, but I no longer have the time to fully engage all of these “debates” myself.

“Debate” is just waiting to be engaged in here.

_____________________________________

UPDATE:

Cake is being served. Please come forward for your cake.

The first person in line is Ubiquitous Che. Here’s his slice:

Comments
8 Responses to “Intellectual Volunteering Opportunities Available Here!”
  1. I’ve subscribed to the comments feed for this blog in Google Reader.

    Can I get an upfront payment on that cake? 😀

  2. L. Ron Brown says:

    The cake is more of a state of mind in this case – if you believe there is cake, then there is cake and it is yours. The question is: Do you believe?

  3. Don’t try and dodge the issue with semi-literate postmodernist vaugeries.

    Cake was offered in unambiguous terms. Stick to the contract.

    😛

  4. L. Ron Brown says:

    STOP PERSECUTING ME!

  5. Mere criticisim isn’t a form of persecution; it’s the very bedrock of free speech.

    Cake me already.

  6. L. Ron Brown says:

    UC: Your cake has been served, sir. Lemme know if there is a type of cake that you like more, and I’ll see if I can find some. 🙂

  7. The cake is served on my kitchen table. All you have to do is make your way to Canberra, Australia in order to claim your slice.

    😛

  8. Chocolate’ll be fine.

    I was wondering how long the interview process would go on for.

    I was particularly pleased with ‘semi-literate postmodernist vaugeries’. That was a new one. 😀

Leave a Reply

