I have shocked, SHOCKED a reader with my willingness to criticize his religion

In Is it a bad thing that the scientific community is supposedly intolerant of religion?, a reader is exasperated that I would have the nerve to shine the spotlight on *his* beliefs: Mormonism. To be fair, he also thinks that I and the scientific community should be “tolerant” of other absurdities such as astrology and alchemy.

He claims that intolerance of other people is a problem. I agree. Intolerance of others, so long as they are committing no injustice (in which case one should be intolerant of their relevant behaviours), is problematic. But a willingness to honestly and rationally critique ideas is only a problem when believers become so attached to their ideas that they take great personal offense when their ideas are criticized. The problem is not with the critic. It is with the believer’s relationship to their beliefs.

To participate in this discussion, go to the comment section of Is it a bad thing that the scientific community is supposedly intolerant of religion?. To people sympathetic to my side on this discussion, please comment to your heart’s content as all this commenting is quickly sapping my time (and sometimes my strength).

Comments are closed.

